Earth World is an artists’ collaborative based in Montréal and founded by the composers and organists Adrian Foster and Joel Peters. The purpose of the collaborative is to create new works of art, commission new compositions, and inspire new literary pieces.

Earth World is organized around events which feature primarily minimalist and electroacoustic music. Each event also produces satellite projects. A satellite project allows for a flexible collaboration between artists of various disciplines. It relates either closely or broadly to the central event, creating a collaboration which allows one to inspire the other, and vice versa. For example, the ocean themed organ recital, titled “Organ Ocean – Waves of Sound”, saw the collaborative efforts of Peters and Toronto-based writer André Forget create a literary work titled “The Lower Registers.” This fantastical text plays with the idea of building organs under the ocean.

The Earth World collaborative is new, but the collaboration between Peters and Foster is not. In 2014, after it had become known that each had organized their own concerts featuring electroacoustic music, they decided to organize a concert together. The result was In Nomine Lucis, a concert featuring electroacoustic music by Huw Morgan and Michael Bonaventure juxtaposed with a Mass by William Byrd, Scelsi’s In Nomine Lucis and a brand new composition for organ by Peters, culminating in Tavener’s glorious “Mother and Child.”

The next project was to compose electroacoustic music for a Vespers service at St. John’s Lutheran in collaboration with Pr. Eric Dyck. This event (2016) saw the collaboration of many musicians, singers, artists, clergy, and others.

Since then Peters and Foster have produced and collaborated on a variety of projects, including Triptych (2017), Organ Ocean – Waves of Sound (2017), and Searching for Lalla (2017).

To date, our current major collaborators include Amy Hillis (violinist), Christopher Murtagh (sound engineer), Kimberley Lynch (soprano), Pooja Sen (graphic designer), Pr. Eric Dyck (clergy), Gerald Ens (bass and theologian), André Forget (writer), Vincent Lauzon (writer, composer, and translator), Marlee Gruss-Neidhart (director), and many gracious souls who have contributed their wonderful talents to the past projects.